

APRE Engineering Awards 2017

The Association of Public Radio Engineers is seeking nominations for the next annual "Engineering Achievement Award" to be presented at the Public Radio Engineering Conference held prior to the NAB convention in April.

The honor is to be awarded to a single individual for "outstanding contributions" to the art and/or science of radio engineering that has

made a "significant impact on, or improvement in", the state of the public radio industry.

Know someone who has made this "outstanding contribution"? Please take a few minutes to say "thanks" for their work by nominating them for this year's award?

Download the 2017 Engineering Award Submission Form from the APRE web site (<u>www.apre.us</u>) and send it to <u>awards@apre.us</u> by March 15, 2017. Full details of the submission process are included on the form.

Last year's APRE Engineering Awards recipient was Ralph Hogan, Past Founding President of APRE.

Other past honorees include:

Ralph Woods, retired NPR Bud Aiello of NPR and Gray Frierson Haertig. Michael LeClair, CE for WBUR(FM) Mike Starling, former Vice President, Technology Research Center & NPR Labs, Roger Karwoski, Assistant Manager and Director of Engineering for KBIA, Columbia, MO Donald Creighton, VP of Technology for Minnesota Public Radio and American Public Media. Richard Cassidy, Director of IT and New Media for WAMU-FM, Washington The late Wayne Hetrich, one of NPR's 30 original employees Chuck Leavens, Director of Engineering and IT management for WDUQ, Pittsburgh Marty Bloss, former Director of Technology at NPR Don Danko, Vice President for Engineering, Cincinnati Public Radio John Kean of NPR Labs, part of NPR Distribution's Technology Research Center (TRC) The late Jim McEachern of NPR Mike Pappas of KUVO in Denver Doug Vernier of V-Soft Communications.